Alumni & History



The Komoka Kings were previously known as the Lambton Shores Predators, playing out of Forest, Ontario until the end of the 2017 Season.

Before the move to Lambton Shores the team was known as the Petrolia Jets, playing out of Petrolia, Ontario from the 1960’s until the end of the 2007 season.

In 1968, the Jets joined the Border Cities Junior “B” league. Although not much is known about the league prior to ’68, it is thought that the team originated in the “Bluewater Junior “C” Hockey League” by OHA historians.

When the BCJCHL became the Great Lakes Junior C Hockey League in 1970, the Jets stayed on board. In 1972, the Jets moved up to Western Junior “B”, but were sent back to Junior “C” in 1984. In 1989, the Jets returned to the Western “B” league where they continue to play today as the Lambton Shores Predators.

The Petrolia Jets petitioned the OHA for a permanent move to Forest, Ontario in 2007 In late April, the governing body of the Western Ontario Conference of the Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League approved the move and the name was changed to the Lambton Shores Predators, matching the name of the local minor hockey system.

On September 11, 2008, the Predators played their first game in Sarnia against the Sarnia Legionnaires.

Roop Chanderdat assumed 100% ownership of the team as of 2011-2012 Season




We’ve had some very notable players pass through our system as the Petrolia Jets and Lambton Shores Predators and we’re thrilled to recognize these players who have gone on to pro career


Steve Mason – Columbus Blue Jackets – NHL – Calder Trophy – World Junior Gold Medal – OHL Goaltender of the Year


Stephen Sanza – OHL – London Knights


Brian Campbell – Chicago Blackhawks – NHL – Stanley Cup Champion


Mark Hunter – NHL – Stanley Cup Champion – OHL – General Manger & Owner London Knights


Dale Hunter – NHL – Stanley Cup Finalist – OHL – Coach and Owner London Knights, Coach of the Year


Michael Leighton – NHL – Stanley Cup Finalist


Pat Verbeek – NHL – NJ, NY, Hartford, Detroit, Dallas – Anaheim Ducks General Manager


John Van Boxmeer – NHL – Stanley Cup Champion


Paul Ysebaert – NHL – NJ, Winnipeg, Detroit, Chicago, Tampa Bay


Bobby Gould – NHL – Stanley Cup Finalist


Tim Hrynewich – NHL Pittsburgh Penguins


Todd Bidner – NHL – Washington Capitals


Matt Rupert – London Knights


Ryan Rupert – London Knights, also a draft pick of the Toronto Maple Leafs


Justin Fazio – OHL – Sarnia Sting

Franco Sproviero – Sarnia Sting, Western University, Kalamazoo Wings

Easton Cowan – London Knights, first round pick (2023) of the Toronto Maple Leafs